Spoon Lady’s biography – spoon player and storyteller

Abby the Spoon Lady biography, Asheville, NC spoon player…

Abby the Spoon Lady is one of very few professional spoon players in the United States and has been a professional street performer for over a decade.   She has studied American folk percussion, music, and folklore while traveling the United States by foot and rail.  

Although her start to music was rough, she is now an internationally known street performer. Today she plays with some of Asheville’s finest local and visiting performers at festivals, within venues, and right on the sidewalk.  Along with finding her within various horror and short films, you can watch interviews with Abby in such documentaries as Nashville 2012, and also Buskin’ Blues, about the world-class street performing scene in Asheville, NC.  She is currently President of the Asheville Buskers Collective.

Spoon Lady - photo by Kevin Russ
Spoon Lady – photo by Kevin Russ

 
Spoon Lady Travels

spoon lady train
 Abby spent most of her 20s traveling the United States by hitchhiking, foot, & rail.   After spending time state to state standing in line at labor pools and employment agencies, she finally learned that music was the most fitting way to fund herself across the country.  She learned to play the spoons, eventually, the “Spoon Lady” emerged.

Becoming very quickly enamored by the hobo lifestyle, she became very interested in its history.  However difficult to carry the medium in a backpack, she spent her hours collecting songs and stories, lyrics and variations.  She recorded on whatever she could get her hands on. Whether it was pen and paper or old cameras, she used whatever was affordable.  Humorous, enlightening, and telling, these stories painted a clear picture of America from its underbelly.

sleep train spoon lady
Abby the Spoon Lady

 

In Asheville, NC Abby is still recording stories and song.   Through Busker Broadcast, a video and audio series put together with the help of the Asheville Buskers Collective, she records songs and interviews of hundreds of performers every year.  If you can’t make it to the sidewalks of Asheville, NC, you can still browse through some of the archives by clicking here and going to the Busker Broadcast archive channel from 2015 and 2016.

STORYTELLING NIGHTS

TO FIND MORE INFORMATION ON STORYTELLING AND STORYTELLING EVENTS IN THE ASHEVILLE AREA PLEASE VISIT THE ASHEVILLE STORYTELLING CALENDAR.

 There will always be a sort of curiosity that surrounds the lifestyle of a hobo or the way of the wanderer.  Today in Asheville you can find Abby performing at storytelling events, sharing what she has learned over the years.  Generally, these events sell out very quickly, so make sure to grab yours when you see the ticket link posted.  You can click RIGHT HERE to find a listing of upcoming events or sign up for her MAILING LIST.


If you have any photos or video you would

like to donate, please consider uploading them here:

DONATE PHOTOS & VIDEO







 

LINKS AND INFORMATION:

Asheville Citizen-Times article: Living Portrait series: NOV 2014 http://www.citizen-times.com/story/life/2014/11/13/living-portrait-series-spoon-lady/18982245/

Busk Break www.buskbreak.com/tag/abby-the-spoon-lady/

Mountain Bound – Steph Stewart meets the Spoon Lady — 2014 https://stephstewart.net/2014/07/30/mountain-bound/

 ASHEVILLE CHANNEL
https://ashevillechannel.com/the-best/chrisrodrigues/

Queen of the Asheville Buskers
http://www.jgphoto.com/?p=4688

Busk Battles, Sept 2014
http://ashevilleblade.com/?p=468

 6-2-15 – 98.1 The River — http://981theriver.com/studio-avl/abby-the-spoon-lady/

Shifty Drifters – Jewish Luck http://www.morejewishluck.com/blog-jewish-luck-book/abby-the-spoon-lady-and-the-shifty-drifters

ONLY IN ASHEVILLE – BOOK – Marla Hardee Milling Published 2016 https://goo.gl/en6VOs

Famous Photographer Kevin Russ and his photos of the Spoon Lady 2015- http://www.kevinruss.com/abbythespoonlady/

Collective Quarterly #4, ‘Pisgah’ — http://www.collectivequarterly.com/

TIME WARNER CABLE NEWS 2015
http://www.twcnews.com/nc/north-carolina/around-carolina/2015/05/28/buskers-help-keep-asheville-arts-and-music-scene-alive.html

Romantic Asheville – Things to do in Asheville, NC https://www.romanticasheville.com/downtown.htm

Footloose and Roaming – Things to do in Asheville, NC
http://loyaltytraveler.boardingarea.com/2015/06/28/footloose-and-roaming-asheville-north-carolina/

Nikon Kidd Interviews –  http://www.thenikonkidd.com/the-nikon-kidd-interviews

Long Lost Family finds Abby The Spoon Lady in Asheville after 35 Years Missing – Ask Asheville Article 2016 https://askasheville.com/long-lost-family-finds-abby-spoon-lady-asheville-35-years-missing/

Sonic States Project –  http://www.sonicstates.org/spoonlady

Capital at Play Magazine – Brother Can You Spare a Dollar? 2016 https://www.capitalatplay.com/brother-can-you-spare-a-dollar/

ASHEVILLE BUSKERS DISCUSS LIFE ON THE ROAD – Oct 2016 – https://originalfuzz.com/blogs/fuzz/asheville-buskers-discuss-life-on-the-road

WLOS LOCAL NEWS = http://wlos.com/news/news-13-this-morning/street-scene-fly-by-night-rounders-bring-downtown-experience-to-news-13

Fly by Night Rounders of Asheville 9-5-16
http://www.hypeorlando.com/forever-young-but-growing-old/2016/09/05/abby-the-spoon-lady/

MOVIES WHERE YOU CAN FIND THE SPOON LADY
Nashville 2012 – 2012
Music City USA – 2012

Jug Face (horror) – 2013
Buskin’ Blues – 2014

2015-06-03 13:12:41   Abby the Spoon Lady1

Abby the Spoon Lady 2015-06-03 13:12:41

2 thoughts on “Spoon Lady’s biography – spoon player and storyteller”

  1. I absolutely love Abby the Spoon Lady. I live in Virginia but plan to drive to Ashville sometime this summer, probably in August to try to see you in person and listen to the ban and hopefully some story telling. Please let me know if you will be around during August 2017 so my wife and I can come see you.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *